Latest News

States That Tax Social Security Benefits: 2 Down, 10 To Go.

With Nebraska and Missouri taking action to exempt Social Security benefits from state income tax, the list of states retaining this provision in their tax code is now down to 10. For Nebraska, it took a series of tax law changes over a three-year period to achieve the relief, with the most recent step being full tax exemption in 2024. Missouri in 2024 did away with the income thresholds previously in place and moved to full exemption beginning this year.

Here are the remaining states where Social Security benefits are taxed:

  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Kansas
  • Minnesota
  • Montana
  • New Mexico
  • Rhode Island
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia

Read a post by The Motley Fool’s Dan Caplinger recapping the Nebraska and Missouri tax changes here.

The link provided above connects readers to the full content of the posted article. The URL (internet address) for this link is valid on the posted date; cannot guarantee the duration of the link’s validity. Also, the opinions expressed in these postings are the viewpoints of the original source and are not explicitly endorsed by AMAC, Inc.; the AMAC Foundation, Inc.; or

What's Your Opinion?

We welcome your comments. Join the discussion and let your voice be heard. All fields are required

Website by Geiger Computers